The Ministry

The main mission of the Ministry of Social Security is to guarantee the social security of its citizens, and to provide an answer to the risks and needs, which people can experience during their lives in the fields of illness, age, dependency, invalidity and occupational accident.

To be able to fulfil its duties, the Ministry of Social Security has under its supervision three administrations:

  • General Inspectorate of Social Security (Inspection générale de la sécurité sociale
  • Social Security Medical Board (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale)
  • State Office for Assessment and Monitoring of the long-term care insurance (Administration d'évaluation et de contrôle de l'assurance-dépendance)

And several public institutions:

  • National Insurance Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale)
  • National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé)
  • Health Insurance Fund for Civil Servants and Public Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics)
  • Health Insurance Fund for Communal Civil Servants and Employees (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux)
  • Health Insurance Fund of the National Railway Company (Entraide médicale des Chemins de fer luxembourgeois)
  • National Pension Insurance Administration (Caisse nationale d'assurance pension)
  • Compensation Fund of the General Pension Scheme (Fonds de compensation commun au régime général de pension)
  • Accident Insurance Association (Association d'assurance accident)
  • Employers’ Mutual Insurance (Mutualité des employeurs)

Mutual benefit societies (sociétés mutuelles) are also under the authority of the Ministry of Social Security.

Finally, the Social Security Arbitration Council (Conseil arbitral de la sécurité sociale) and the High Council of Social Security (Conseil supérieur de la sécurité sociale) form the two jurisdictions in the field of Social Security.

Last update